top of page
  • valitilvinisump

Asphalt Modifieds For Rfactor 11: The Best Way to Enjoy rFactor with Realistic Physics, Graphics, an



On Sunday, April 26, Xtreme Short Track Sim Racing and AsphaltVision.TV will bring fans this special event for FREE, showcasing the virtual Oswego Speedway. Both the Oswego Novelis Supers, along with the ISMA / MSS style Supermodifieds will see full programs beginning with qualifying and ending with two main events.




Asphalt Modifieds For Rfactor 11



Oswego Supermodifieds will begin their preliminary slate at 8pm with private qualifying, followed by 10-lap heat races, and a 15-lap B-Main if necessary. A total of 26 cars will qualify for each respective main event. At approximately 8:45pm, the 50-lap feature will take the green flag.


At the conclusion of the Novelis Super portion, the game will reset, and Winged Supermodifieds will take center stage at 9:15pm with on-track qualifying. The winged cars will not have any heat races, with non-qualified cars instead moving directly to a 15-lap LCQ and eventually the 50-lap main event - making for 100-laps of feature action brought to you LIVE on AsphaltVision.TV.


Both asphalt and dirt have trere expenses. I've raced both, the asphalt tire expense can kill you, the dirt motor expense is just as bad. My opinion is that atleast when you spend a bunch of money on a motor you have the possibility of it lasting a few years, tires on my asphalt mod were good for 1 race. Some people were even just using a set of tires to practice on then a new set to qualify and race on. Its hard to keep up when they have the money to do that.


I've also raced stock cars both dirt and asphalt, the cost is relatively the same except the tire bill on asphalt is more. This is just my experience down here in south Texas, Corpus Christi has a dirt and asphalt track.


Remember that with I.M.C.A. there is a $525.00 claim rule on the motors. alot of the people I know that run dirt modifieds can run tires for a year or two. there is money in some of the dirt modified motors out there but if you finish on the lead lap you can claim any of the top four finisher's motors. plus it also matters on if you like to drive it into the corners or slid it in!!


On dirt, I expected to replace some suspension component (usually a ball joint) quite often due to track roughness; in my Lt Mdl, replaced RR tire a lot, LR not as often, RF lasted twice as long as the RR, and LF would last a looooong time; body panels either were straightened out or replaced weekly (beating and banging attributed to rough drivers and/or the higher car counts than I've experienced at most asphalt races); car wash bill on the way home


So far asphalt has been much cheaper. True, I'm in a class that has a very hard compound tire, so that cost is almost negated. And I can run pump gas or a pump gas, 98 octane mix. And our car counts have suffered since the last of last season and after the 1st race of the year, so the body has held up pretty well.


My guess is, if I were in an asphalt mod, my operating cost would still be cheaper than on dirt due to less wear on the car from track conditions and the overall cleaner (read: less contact) racing I've exeperience and witnessed at the asphalt track.


The 9/11 economy drove me to a sport mod. Dirt sport mods / SIMS were the cheapest to operate (pre-Hoosier prices). You could be competitive with an old chassis and junk parts. This style class might be a good candidate for asphalt.


I can say that neither are inexpensive. I can honestly say that I spend approximately $10,000-15,000 a year in operating cost for my asphalt modified. I help out a friend of mine that runs in the USMTS series. I can tell you that he probably spends double if not triple what I do. His traveling expenses are substantially more than mine. The downside to running asphalt right now is you only have three tracks in Texas to run at.


Prior to this year one of the biggest expenses we had was the tires. With the new Goodyears that we run you can honestly get double the laps out of. You can use the dirt tires more, however, they seem to get punctured a lot more than asphalt.


[2] These products were petroleum coke, petroleum wax, asphalt, road oil and refinery gas. The substances are petroleum by-products, or refinery residue, that result from the processing of crude oil into refined products such as gasoline.


The General Pavement Study (GPS) 6 experiment, "AC Overlay of AC Pavements," involves pavement test sections where an asphalt concrete (AC) overlay was placed on an existing AC pavement. This TechBrief summarizes the results of a study of the GPS-6 e... 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page